Aerial – Kate Bush

Warning, this entry contains considered and literate music journalism, and not the usual half-baked stuff I generally peddle. You have to be serious when you talk about our Kate, one of this country’s few musical genii (eh?). How many artists could make an album of this beauty after a 12 year break from music? Well here is my answer, one.
I love Bertie, a wonderful ode to her son and sounding like it could have come straight out of Piae Cantiones (Google it, rock kids), Mrs. Bartolozzi (Who would have thought a song about housework could sound so amazing) and Joanni. For me the heart of the first disc though is the haunting simplicity of A Coral Room. I listened to this tonight, alone in my music room/man cave, and I had goosebumps for the whole 6 minutes.
Disc 2 is the real treat, an absolutely incredible piece of music. How do you describe music of this beauty with only words, it transcends them? So, I thought a piece of music so in tune with the natural world needs a big room, so I listened to disc 2 while walking through our local woodland. It did sound amazing and fitted perfectly with my surroundings, although, I guess Kate wasn’t thinking about discarded cigarette packets and empty larger cans when she was constructing her sound poem of pastoral England.
Micro review; I have never heard this much birdsong since I played my RSPB British Bird Sounds album.

Leave a Reply

