Animals – Pink Floyd

You’re nearly a real treat, all tight lips and cold feet.
I have really grown into this album, it wasn’t one of my favourite Floyd albums until I was in my 30s, once in my 30s I could identify more fully with Roger Waters’ sneering middle-aged, middle-class, dinner-party rage.
For me the heart of the album is Dogs (closing side one on the record) and Pigs (opening side 2), closely followed by Sheep (there are probably a number of jokes to be made here using the track listing of this album). Like all Floyd albums since Meddle, Rick Wright adds the extra element that made them special, especially the opening of Sheep, and the synths in the middle of Dogs. Pigs sounded brilliant tonight, although I jested earlier about Waters rage, it is a really angry song (using the f word months before the Sex Pistols used it on their début).
I met my American friend once at Heathrow on his first visit to the UK. He was very jet-lagged and he slumped down in his seat on the tube as we headed into London, that is until we passed Battersea Power Station, at which point he jumped up pointing to it shouting ‘It’s Animals, its Animals’, then started to play the air guitar solo from Dogs to a packed subway train, with his eyes closed, happy days.
Two word review; Melodious anger.

4 thoughts on “Animals – Pink Floyd

  1. Dogs is one of my favourite Floyd tracks and they are a band I love. Really underrated album. The pessimistic Waters worldview is present here but Gilmour chucks in that amazing solo in Dogs.

Leave a Reply

