Rio – Duran Duran

Do do do do do do do dodo dododo dodo
While listening to this today I had a thought, if Friedrich Nietzsche’s idea of eternal recurrence is correct then I am going to have to spend eternity listening to this album over and over again, but it could have been worse I could have been listening to their covers album Thank You. I don’t know how I ended up with this album, I think it must be my wife’s.
While listening to this I thought it is going to be fantastic, I will be able to get my witty journalistic knife into this album and pull out its still beating heart. But, you know what, it isn’t half bad (oh no, did I just say that). It reeks of the 1980s, but so do many albums.
I have found myself becoming rather partial to the track The Chauffeur, it is complete horse shit of course, but this stuff is like curry and chip sandwiches, you know its wrong, but you can’t help yourself.
While listening to this I have also become obsessed with Hungry like the Wolf, talk about reeking of the 80s. I really can’t believe how sexually aggressive the lyrics are, how did they get away with this, ‘I’m on the hunt I’m after you’, ‘Stalked in the forest, too close to hide’, ‘I’ll be upon you by the moonlight side’.
Guilty hidden gem; Save a Prayer
Micro review; This album is what happens when people take too much cocaine

4 thoughts on “Rio – Duran Duran

  1. There are some class tracks on this album – The Chauffeur is pure 80’s quality, a cracking video on YouTube!! My Duran claim to fame – I spent a day on Simon LeBons yatch (Drum – from the Rio video) back in 95 in Bangor NI, however wasn’t owned by him at the time.

  2. A lot of snobbery going on here, sadly:

    “I don’t know how I ended up with this album, I think it must be my wife’s.”

    Yes, blame it on her, why not? I’m sure your own collection is far too cool.

    “While listening to this I thought it is going to be fantastic, I will be able to get my witty journalistic knife into this album and pull out it’s still beating heart. But, you know what, it isn’t half bad (oh no, did I just say that).”

    If you like it, you don’t need to pretend you don’t. Or be ashamed. And don’t flatter yourself re: the “witty journalistic knife”. (No apostrophe needed in “its” here, either.)

    “it is complete horse shit of course, but this stuff is like curry and chip sandwiches, you know its wrong, but you can’t help yourself.”

    Why is it “wrong”? If it gives you pleasure, can’t you admit it?

    Sad.

Leave a Reply

