Closer – Joy Division

I think important records/songs leave an indelible impression on people. I have very vivid memories of where I was, and what I was doing when I first heard The Stranglers, The Smiths, The Fall, The Clash and a whole host of others (basically, lying on my bed listening to John Peel). I remember exactly where I was when I first heard Joy Division, I was lying on my bed listening to John Peel (never!). I still considered myself a musical child at this time, I liked Punk Rock, but anything outside that was foreign to me. That is until I heard Twenty Four Hours. Twenty Four Hours is my boy to man track, all music anoraks have a boy to man track, with some, it may not actually happen until they are in their 30s. I am sure there is a female equivalent of this.
Some of it sounds a bit over produced tonight, I think I could have lived without the synths on Isolation (I feel scared even suggesting this, as I do believe a beyond the grave Martin Hannett could come out my speakers and give me a slapping). But what a record, I love Decades and Passover, but of course nothing comes close to Twenty Four Hours.
Listening to this tonight is tinged with a bit of sadness, what would the rest of the 80s and 90s have been like if Ian Curtis had lived? I think it would have been a very different landscape. Imagine a world without Spandau Ballet, now that is something to cherish.
Micro review; J.G. Ballard with guitars.
Three word review; John Peel RIP


2 thoughts on “Closer – Joy Division

  1. I don’t have a “boy to man track” but I do have an album which I think is a similar thing. For me it’s “The Wall” by Pink Floyd. Until this, at about 12, I’d never heard an album with sound effects, speech etc. Having done so showed me that music or any other art form can be what you want it to be.

Leave a Reply

