The Queen is Dead – The Smiths

Oh mother I can feel the soil falling over my head, this line is taken from Morrissey’s Big Book of Gardening (sorry). I jest, but actually I love, I Know It’s Over, it is probably one of the stronger tracks on this album. When I am in a Smiths mood (I don’t really know if that is a good or bad mood) this isn’t the first album I reach for, but it sounds really good today. Even though I have 45 years of unblemished hetrosexuality, I will always deeply love Morrissey (if Joey Barton can, so can I).
I think the best track they ever did is on this album, There Is a Light That Never Goes Out. It is quintessential Smiths, lyrically, emotionally and musically, and it is perfect. I have always had a soft spot for Some Girls Are Bigger Than Others, If There is a Light… is Morrissey’s moment, then this is Marr’s.
I think sometimes people seem to take Morrissey’s lyrics far too seriously, the Poet Laureate of maudlin (hey I just made that up, it’s mine) knows what he is doing. I sometimes imagine him sitting at a desk writing these lyrics, then every once in a while laughing behind his hand.
Best track; There Is a Light That Never Goes Out, by a country mile.

One thought on “The Queen is Dead – The Smiths

  1. One of the few albums where I like every track – doesn’t happen often, I bought this on cassette and it got some hammer in my car!!

Leave a Reply

