Never Mind the Bollocks Here’s the Sex Pistols – Sex Pistols

Where do you start with this bloody thing, if I write something flippant and trite I will have the light-middle weight wrath of serious punkologist Jon Savage to contend with. Talk about baggage, there is a whole airlines worth of baggage to unpick with this album. So, here is my trite and flippant view of this album.
I remember exactly where I was, and what I was doing when I first heard this album. I was standing in my friends back garden in the rain. The problem was I was wearing muddy wellington boots and David Goan’s mother wouldn’t allow me in the house as she had just had a new carpet fitted (rock and roll), so David had an idea. I stood in the back garden, he opened the window of his bedroom, balanced a speaker on the open window and I could listen to the album. This worked, although it was freezing and pouring with rain, until Bodies started. David panicked and jumped up to try and retrieve the speaker before the neighbours heard the offending lyrics, however rather than rescuing the speaker he sent it tumbling out of the window where it smashed on impact. Sid Vicious would have been so proud.
There are still some great songs on this album though and I would argue that the four singles are probably the four greatest consecutive single releases by any band, ever. I really hated the slower songs on this album when I was younger, but I have grown very fond of New York as I got older.
Hidden gem; Submission (is it about bondage or submarines?)

One thought on “Never Mind the Bollocks Here’s the Sex Pistols – Sex Pistols

  1. I too remember where I was when i first heard this album, I would like to think most people where interested in the band would, I may be wrong. My sister brought it in just after school and stuck it on the radio-gram (yeh rock n roll). When I heard Bodies my first thought were “she’s in for it now and my mam is going to go nuts” just aswell she wasn’t in! Every track on this album is quality, my favourite being No Feelings which I think was the last track the band profomed together back then.

Leave a Reply

