Greatest Hits – The Notorious B.I.G

Just to throw you all a curveball here I thought I would follow Phillip Glass with The Notorious B.I.G. Hey I am just a postmodern pragmatist, what can I say. Biggie is a true poet chronicler of the streets, and a genius. Since his death he has become cast as the Barry White of Rap which I think undermines his output, true there is a soul/R and B strand to his stuff, but even his love songs are laced with a cold reality.
One of the jump out tracks from this album tonight is Dead Wrong, maybe too much reality for a Friday night in County Durham though as a typical crime on these streets is the desecration of garden gnomes. Hypnotize is another favourite, again strong on subject matter, but insightful all the same. My favourite song on the album is Juicy from his first album. The song is his pay back to all the people who said he would amount to nothing and a look at his life before he was famous.
Micro review; It’s all good, and if you don’t know, now you know.

One thought on “Greatest Hits – The Notorious B.I.G

Leave a Reply

