Axis Bold As Love – The Jimi Hendrix Experience

If all the hippies cut off their hair, I don’t care, I don’t care.
If there is a coolometer, a barometer of cool if you will, Hendrix would basically be 100, the highest score you could get. I myself would be around a 3 or possibly a 4. We would sit around and play this game (I was going to add when we were kids, but to be honest I still play the coolometer game) for ever, I would argue down most people’s ratings, and generally only Hendrix has ever achieved an unchallenged 100.
This is a patchy album if I were being honest, but it contains some of my favourite Hendrix tracks. If 6 Were 9 is a classic, and shows The Experience firing on all cylinders (I have shoehorned that cliché in here as a bet). Castles Made of Sand is another favourite, Jimi with his amps on 5, rather than 10.
But my absolute favourite Hendrix track is on this album, Little Wing, what a bloody song. There is a personal reason for liking this track so much. After 10 months of living in South Korea, being starved of gigs, me and my friends stumbled into a bar on a trip to Seoul. We could hear there was live music going on, but it wasn’t until we were in the door that we realised this trio, from Hong Kong, (who I thought were great) were playing Little Wing. My Friend turned to me and said ‘Dude, it’s Little Wing’. And just like that, our live music drought was quenched.

2 thoughts on “Axis Bold As Love – The Jimi Hendrix Experience

Leave a Reply

