The Gospel According to the Men in Black – The Stranglers

Stranglers fans (I am including myself here) are a funny bunch, we wear our band t-shirts with pride and must acknowledge the wearing of this apparel by others when out and about in our daily lives (I had a ‘nice t-shirt mate’ once, but more often it is a knowing nod of the head). There is an elephant in the room here though, that is the wearing of band t-shirts by people over 40, my wife says it is the manifestation of my mid-life crisis, but at least we wear them because of our love for the artist. I spent a couple of minutes talking to someone in a pub once (friend of a friend) about the Ramones (he was wearing a t-shirt) only for him to say, ‘Oh, were they a band then’
TheMeninBlack (that is how you have to write it) is a great album. I can just imagine the conversations with the record company and the band in the late 70s. Band; OK, we are going to make a concept album about UFOs and religion. Record company; OK guys, could you list here what drugs you are currently taking?
I love the track Turn Centuries Turn, an ambient punk (if there is such a thing) instrumental around guitars (lots of guitars) and bass, with an almost backwards drum pattern from the mighty Mr Black. Obviously the classic WaltzinBlack is fantastic and still opens the band’s gigs 30 odd years later. My favourite track on the album though is Manna Machine, I really don’t know how to describe this track (more ambient punk rock?) other than to call it very odd, I guess you just need to listen to it.
Hidden gem; Second Coming (prog, punk, reggae space music, with religious overtones)

One thought on “The Gospel According to the Men in Black – The Stranglers

  1. When it comes to The Stranglers, I am a bit of an oddball. My faves are, in order: The Raven, Feline, Rattus, La Folie, Black and White, No More Heroes, Gospel, Aural Sculpture and then I lost interest after that, but these are still all primarily great listens. Funny, they sounded dated way back in the early 80’s, but they sound more contemporary today. To my ears, anyway…

Leave a Reply

