By the Roads and the Fields – Crescent

I know, it’s only industrial, post-rock avant-garde soundscapes, but I like it, like it, yes I do.
I am hedging my bets here, but I am pretty sure that this album doesn’t appear on The Rolling Stone 500 Greatest Albums of All Time.
Sounding like a polite version of Throbbing Gristle, Crescent are a really interesting band, I don’t know how to describe them though, ambient lo-fi folk? Post-everything since 1957?
I love the first track from this album, Spring, what a fantastic track. Fountains is another gem, broken jazz anyone? My favourite track is Structure and Form, a sonic poem for the urban night (did I really just write that). One thing about this album, although it is obviously a challenging listen, it is still full of tunes, and is very musical, they remind me a lot of Talk Talk in that respect. Someone called me an orphan of the avant-garde once, still not sure if it was a compliment or criticism. But if it means I can listen to albums like this, then so be it.
Micro review; Sonic textures R us
Hidden gem; River Debris

Leave a Reply

