LA Woman – The Doors

Then the Doors make a grown up Rock and Roll album. This was always my favourite album as a kid and it was the only one that I could still listen to, even when I fell out of love with them. I had this album with a Dymo sticker (hard plastic sticker that you could press out letters on to, usually used to put your name on stuff) on it saying, This album belongs to.. If anyone should ever come across this album, with dymo sticker intact, I would pay good money to get it back.
Love her Madly is a great track, it is fantastic, and once again made better by Robbie Krieger’s fantastic unstated guitar throughout. The Cars Hiss By My Window is amazing, I know most people would say Zeppelin did this kind of electric blues much better, but I like this track, a lot. Crawling King Snake is another track that has some amazing guitars in it, especially those noisy extended licks (did I really just use the term guitar licks) throughout. Best track, for me is The WASP, what a groove man (sorry), Morrison’s lyrics are a bit much (forget the night, come live with us in forests of azure, OK Jim), but I think the band never sounded more together as they do on this track. Welcome back Jim, it has been a long time.
Hidden gem; Been Down So Long, mainly for those guitar solos.
Micro review; What other band has called it day with an album as strong as this? I just wish all the kids who have the Morrison poster or the decontextualised Doors t-shirt have actually listened to the album.

Leave a Reply

