The Clash – The Clash

What the hell is wrong with me?
This was, I think, the second album I owned, discounting, obviously the Partridge Family album that I got for a pre-Punk Christmas. I never get tired of this album, and although there are better versions of these tracks around, it still stands as a great statement, a plan of attack.
I had a debate a couple of years ago, in a pub with an old friend and his 18 year old son. The Kid (as he shall be known) was adamant that he lived in a golden age compared to living through the late 70s and early 80s. I didn’t really agree, but he argued his corner well and the beer that I had consumed earlier dulled my senses and arguments. So I am calling him out now (2 years later) and here is what I wanted to say at the time. I spent my youth listening to The Clash, you spent your youth sleeping outside a shop so you could buy a telephone, give me my youth any day. Technology, shit it.
Back to the album, and what an album. It is probably the first time writing this blog that I can’t call out specific tracks. The whole album is brilliant, and a much stronger début than the Pistols offering.
Hidden gem; All of them.
Micro review; Amphetamine marxism


6 thoughts on “The Clash – The Clash

  1. I think I have you both beat! I lived the ’60’s. Ah, but The Clash. When they came along it was like the return of great music. This was the first of three masterpieces and I hope you all know the other two. Hint, one of them is not Combat Rock! I totally second everything you say about this great album but where are the better versions of these tracks? There is the live, From Here To Eternity which is also a must have but I wonder which versions you were thinking of? This album and all it’s tracks are, to my mind, perfect! Got Vinyl? The way I heard them first and the way they
    sound the best to me. The 60’s, remember? Keep up the good work!
    BoB.

Leave a Reply

