John Lennon/Plastic Ono Band – John Lennon/Plastic Ono band

The Dream is Over
When I worked in Saudi Arabia I was sitting at the dining table one night with a couple of my UK expatriate work colleagues. The talk, for some strange reason, turned to where we were when John Lennon died. A couple of guys talked about working at that time in London, Africa, Hong Kong. Then someone piped up and asked me where I was when John Lennon died, I looked up from my sponge pudding and said one word, school.
Lennon’s paranoid, angst ridden postcard about the Beatles, his childhood and his own celebrity. I would imagine most Beatles fans on hearing this album would have choked on their official Beatles Candy Licorice Record Set (yes, this did exist). It is heavy stuff, without any chirpy Macca moments as the counter-balance. This is John Winston, full on.
Some great tracks on this, and most of them are quite difficult to listen to, Look at Me, Mother (I love the very inappropriate, pointless cover version by Barbara Streisand) and I found Out are great tracks. I also want to give a shout out to the track God (only John Lennon could get away with naming a track God), a primal scream shopping list of everything he was leaving behind, including The Beatles.
Micro review; Primal scream therapy, set to music.

Leave a Reply

