A Cockney Christmas with Chas and Dave – Chas and Dave

And so we move, in my odd world, from Charlie Mingus to Chas and Dave. After listening to Bob Dylan’s Christmas album a couple of weeks ago I thought I would cast my net a little further and found this gem. What can I say, as cockney Christmas albums go, this is up there with the best of them. I especially like the versions of Away in a Manger and Silent Night. I really have to go and lie down now, that is really all I can take.
I guess I have never really had a proper Christmas, I need to get myself to its spiritual centre, Bethnal Green.
Micro review: Next I will listen to Cannon and Ball sing the songs of Jacques Brel
Hidden gem: O litowl Taan ov Bef-le-em

Leave a Reply

