Skylarking – XTC

Silent film of melting miracle play
I am doing something here that runs counter to the natural order of things. I am listening to Skylarking in November. Everyone knows in order to feel the full vibe of this album you should only listen to it between the months of May and August (including bank holidays). But, I need a bit of summer today in freezing Dublin. Everything about this album is just perfect, and every track is perfect, even the running order is perfect. You will have to excuse this next confession. I once spent a very nice summers day (while my wife and daughter were at the beach) in front of my computer re-arranging the tracks of Skylarking to try and find an alternative running order, 6 hours later I conceded that the original order was the best one.
I need to call out one track though, 1000 Umbrellas, it sounded particularly wonderful tonight, and kept the Dublin wind from my bones.
Hidden gem: All of them, no seriously.
Micro review: Pastoral Psychedelia from Swindon
Addendum: I like Dear God as much as the next geeky, obsessive, compulsive, track re-ordering fan, but it doesn’t belong on this album.

3 thoughts on “Skylarking – XTC

Leave a Reply

