Adventures Beyond the Ultraworld – The Orb

What were the skies like when you were young?
I did something today which goes against the order of things, in defiance of nature and with the possibility of creating chaos in the fabric of time and space. I listened to this album without the aid of chemicals (maybe I could be a trendsetter?). As a middle-aged, overweight IT consultant the only chemicals I come into contact with are on my laptop screen-wipes.
I remember in the mid 1990s playing Little Fluffy Clouds to an American friend of mine, his jaw did literally drop, I don’t think he realised that music like that existed in his low-fi universe. I heard from him about a year later and he was living in London and partaking in lots of warehouse gatherings (I created a monster).
This whole album is a journey, man and it is really difficult to pick out specific tracks. Earth (Gaia) is a particular standout though. I absolutely love the ambient reggae of Perpetual Dawn and the fact that they are not entirely serious. I could never dance to the Orb though, as I was from the town in Footloose.
Hidden gem: How could you not love a track called, A Huge Ever Growing Pulsating Brain That Rules from the Centre of the Ultraworld.
Micro review: The World is an album, and those who do not travel only listen to track one side one (Saint Augustine).

Leave a Reply

