Steel Skies – Alistair Anderson

It is a funny thing being from the north-east, it certainly leaves a mark on you, but it is hard to quantify. I imagine that this feeling of being from the north-east is the closest I will ever get to being a nationalist. To try out my theory I took this album out and about in Northumberland. I basically walked along Hadrian’s Wall and listened to it in the wind and the rain, while my wife and daughter waited in a coffee shop.
Without uttering a word this album captures what it means to be from the north-east, quite an accomplishment really. Walking along Hadrian’s Wall today listening to First Light/Rymeside 1 and 2… was amazing, almost spiritual, I could feel the ancient people of Bernicia beneath my feet.
The great thing about this album, is its scope. I don’t know if I can really call it folk music, it paints a bigger canvas than that.
Micro review: Northumbrian classical music

One thought on “Steel Skies – Alistair Anderson

  1. What do you mean by this?

    “Walking along Hadrian’s Wall today listening to First Light/Rymeside 1 and 2… was amazing, almost spiritual, I could feel the ancient people of Bernicia beneath my feet.”

Leave a Reply

