Transient Random-Noise Bursts with Announcements – Stereolab

Stereolab fit into the, I know where I was when I first heard this band category. I was at university and working part-time as a kitchen porter. I was flicking through the kitchen radio and started to listen to the newly created Radio 5 (this was back in the day when they still played music). From the tiny gravy splashed, onion smelling radio came a most sublime noise, the track French Disko. It was love at first listen and I knew that I would never be the same again.
It is quite hard to pick out tracks from this album, I probably haven’t played the whole thing through for 10 years or so, but for some odd reason, Crest (which I would never have singled out before) sounds particularly amazing tonight.
An aside; I did something tonight I haven’t done for years. I sat at home and drew stuff on the bottom of my slippers with a biro pen, happy days, I blame the Jet lag.
Micro review; Krautrock Marxist-pop with announcements

2 thoughts on “Transient Random-Noise Bursts with Announcements – Stereolab

Leave a Reply

