Locust Abortion Technician – Butthole Surfers

Like is a stong word, especially when the album in question is called Locust Abortion Technician (sounds like one of David Lynch’s dreams). Interesting yes, challenging certainly, like, I am not so sure. I thought this was, shall we say, odd when I first heard it back in the day. Actually listening to it now, it sounds almost conventional, proto-grunge in the making.
Graveyard, the version on side 2, is fantastic and sounds like The Cramps and also the great, but very disturbing, 22 Going On 23 (see what I mean about liking this album)
Actually, even though I think this album is less odd than I did in the 80s I bet it was still Ted Bundy’s album of the year. Even though Gibby Haynes is now a pillar of the community I would still be scared to shake his hand, you just don’t know where it’s been. My wife says I am too old to be listening to this stuff, my response to that is SATAN.
Micro review; Music to tie people to chairs to.
Micro review 2; To quote Jack Crawford speaking to Clarice Starling in Silence of the Lambs – And remember, you don’t want the Butthole Surfers in your head.
Hidden gem; Pittsburgh to Lebanon

2 thoughts on “Locust Abortion Technician – Butthole Surfers

  1. Wow, from the Ramones to the Surfers in just 2 posts, man what’s next the Dayglo Abortions? I actually loved this album back in the 80’s but find it fairly un-listenable now. As you said, it’s…interesting.

    E

Leave a Reply

