Rattus Norvegicus – The Stranglers

When you are a fan of a band you can sometimes go to very dark places, I am not talking about Bob Dylan’s Christmas album (although I would be pushed, at this moment, to name anything scarier) I mean the dark corner of the internet that is, the band fan forum. I have graced these forums people, I have discussed alternate takes and remixes in the most shocking of detail, please forgive me. I have also been shown the door of said fan forums for not knowing my stuff. A couple of years ago I mentioned if anyone could remember the etchings on run-out grooves of albums, in particular A Porky Prime Cut which I said was on my copy of Rattus Norvegicus. Within 10 minutes there was a deluge of replies pointing out my error and stupidity, A Porky Prime Cut never graced the run-out groove of Rattus, but The Raven. I hung my head in shame at my error, how could I call myself a fan with this huge gap in my knowledge.
Listening to this tonight I wonder how anyone can claim to hate The Stranglers. All you need to do is listen to Hanging Around and realise they were one of the most innovative, exciting, provocative bands to grace any small orange transistor radio and change a young boys life.
An aside; I still go and see the band with their Sunderland singer. I swear he sings Grip with a Sunderland accent though, But the money’s nee guid, just gerra grip on yersell.
An Aside 2; I wrote this on an ipad and the auto-correct continually wanted me to write Rattus Norwegians.
Hidden gem; Sometimes

4 thoughts on “Rattus Norvegicus – The Stranglers

  1. Total agreement with Mark. This and The Raven are tops!
    *(I also have a soft spot for Feline. But don’t tell anybody.)

  2. I agree completely with your confusion at Stranglers hate; this is a great album that cries out for universal acclaim! It’s the snarling attitude in the tunes that makes The Stranglers and puts this LP over the top for me. I also like follow-up No More Heroes but I guess it’s time to venture beyond 1977 and try some of the later stuff, eh? The Raven, here I come! Thanks for the reminder.

Leave a Reply

