Next – The Sensational Alex Harvey Band

I seem to have this habit of getting caught at the sweary bits of songs. When I first played Never Mind the Bollocks my grandmother wandered in right at the moment in Bodies where it all kicks off. You would have thought that I would have learned my lesson, but of course I didn’t. I had just moved into a basement flat and my elderly, church going landlady decided to come down to say hello and see if I was settling in OK. She walked through the door just as the title track Next began to play, not loud enough to turn down, but still with enough volume to hear the lyrics, we both stood chatting while a mad Glasweigan gadgy told us about sleeping with diseased prostitutes. I knew she knew what was being sung about, we both chose to continue the strained conversation until the word gonorrhea rang out from my speakers and I turned the volume down, made some lame excuse about needing the toilet (it was all that talk of venereal disease) and made my escape.
When I listened to this tonight I made sure my headphones were firmly on, just to make doubly sure I waited until I was alone before the needle hit the plastic, or in this case, the much less romantic, before the laser decoded the 1s and 0s.
Best track; Faith Healer

4 thoughts on “Next – The Sensational Alex Harvey Band

  1. Absolutely brilliant album – a rock classic. ‘Next’ , originally by Jacques Brel and called ‘Suivant’ doesn’t shirk from the original’s exposé of the seedy underbelly of life – and comes up trumps because of it. I, too was caught out by my Mum on a sweary song, as she wandered in to the strains of Bowie’s ‘Time’ – on the line “she flexes like a whore, falls wanking to the floor..” probably explains why she never felt it necessary to give me the ‘facts of life’ lecture! 🙂

    • Agreed! Ironically, I thought the best bit of Terry jacks’ version of Brel’s ‘Seasons in the Sun’ ( Le Moribond ) was the guitar hook he put in it.

Leave a Reply

