Symphony No. 6 – Gustav Mahler

I realised this morning that I have yet to feature some classical music, I have dabbled in the avant-garde end of things with Micky Nyman and Big Phil Glass. To be fair, to be real classical music, the composer needs to be dead for at least 50 years.
I saw this performed live when I was at University, afterwards I decided to eschew rock music in favour of my new-found love, classical music, I lasted about 3 weeks (hearing Stereolab on the radio one night pushed me back into the rock music maelstrom). Gustav Mahler is, I suppose, the Ian Curtis of the late-Romantic period, let’s say they both shared a healthy pessimism.
Standout track; First Movement

One thought on “Symphony No. 6 – Gustav Mahler

Leave a Reply

