All the Young Dudes – Mott the Hoople

One of the first rock songs I ever heard was Roll Away the Stone by Mott the Hoople. Our old back garden was in ear shot of a youth club and this song just stuck in my head. When I was about 25 I heard this track again and I was transported back, epiphany like to that back garden in the summer of 74.
I do like a bit of Mott (sorry I couldn’t resist that). I think they are one of that rare breed of bands that defy real classification, most people stick them in the Glam category, but they had much more going for them.
Standout track; All the Young Dudes of course, imagine writing a song like that and then giving it away!
Hidden gem; One of the Boys

4 thoughts on “All the Young Dudes – Mott the Hoople

  1. So many great songs on this one. Brings back memories. Thanks for that. Of equal importance in the Mott discography were the two that followed this. ‘Mott’ and then ‘The Hoople’. Amazing rock records burned into history, with one great cut after the other. I was lucky to see them open for Queen, back in the day. Talk about history.

    Was it Bowie that influenced Ian Hunter or was it the other way around?!

  2. I First saw them I think it was Salford Universaty, they just blew us all away, it was that raw rock n roll dressed as a soldier I think like red and gold Amazing
    Bowie, Ian Hunter, Mick Ronson:( Woody woodmansey, we were at the birth of something different, our parents were just saying” there all queers” lol you’ll grow up queer my dad used to say” lol I could talk Albright about that era, who I saw and nearly photographed T REX Marc Bolan, I had a Polaroid camera he posed through the glass of the Granada TV the Bolan Show, he sadly died about three days later. If I’d have had a proper camera that image would have made me rich, it would still be selling now.

Leave a Reply

