Pills ‘n’ Thrills and Bellyaches – Happy Mondays

There was always something fascinating about the Happy Mondays. You could never really say they were inauthentic, they looked and sounded like they had just strolled off some council estate at 4am, with intent to supply. There are some great tracks on this album but I have to say none of them come close to the wonderful cool of Loose Fit. It is that perfect blend of dance and rock and roll made by social misfits, with an amazing chorus that gives Noel Gallagher everything he needs to know.
Standout track; Loose Fit
Hidden gem; Bob’s Yer Uncle
An aside; When I grow up I want to be Bez
Best lyrical moment; I only went with your mother ’cause she’s dirty, And I don’t have a decent bone in me…

One thought on “Pills ‘n’ Thrills and Bellyaches – Happy Mondays

  1. For me this is one of the defining albums of not just the ’90’s but my life. It just hit me at a time when I was real susceptible to ‘The New Music From Britain’, and this, along with Screamadelica, The Stone Roses debut and a host of others (especially 1993’s inscrutable Giant Steps by the Boo Radleys) have stayed with me ever since. I can’t find a duff track on this one.

Leave a Reply

