Bringing It All Back Home – Bob Dylan

Although the masters make the rules, for the wise men and the fools.
Like most young boys in the 1970s and early 1980s I would secretly scan the Sunday tabloids in search for the Britannia music club ad. It took me years of belly aching but I finally wore down my parents resolve and I entered that beautiful world of 3 albums for 50p each, the fact that I had to buy 3 full-priced albums was buried deep in my subconscious. I struggled to find full priced albums that I really wanted and managed to brow-beat my parents into choosing some for themselves. The final album was going to have to be mine though. As luck would have it Bringing It all Back Home was one of the albums in the full priced magazine.
Dylan’s Judas Period is still pretty much my favourite, however the track that I have played three times tonight isn’t one of the electric ones, it is It’s Alright, Ma (I’m Only Bleeding). This is an amazing song, Dylan does surrealist pessimism on an acoustic guitar while jabbing his finger at contemporary culture.
Hidden gem; Bob Dylan’s 115th Dream
An aside; I just watched Don’t Look Back recently, poor Donovan, imagine a song-off with Dylan. He sings something that the world has now forgotten all about, Dylan pulls out It’s All Over Now Baby Blue, no contest.

Leave a Reply

