Weld – Neil Young

When I saw those big fake fender amps at the Newcastle Arena last week I knew we were in for a Weldish (that is old English for big loud 20 minute guitar feedback improvisations) experience. Before the gig I apologised to my higher hearing register and kicked back to listen to 2 hours of improvised feedback. I left the arena for 20 minutes to get some air, when I came back I could swear Neil was playing the same chord, and everyone seemed to have aged about a decade.
This is a great, turn it up, album and contains, for me, the best officially released version of Cortez the Killer. The only problem playing this album is that the opening riff of Hey Hey, My My (Into the Black) always gets stuck in my head for about a week.
Micro review; I like feedback as much as the next man of a nervous disposition and stammer, but come on Nelly, you could have had 3 more tracks in there if you turned that amp down.

2 thoughts on “Weld – Neil Young

Leave a Reply

