The Hangman’s Beautiful Daughter – The Incredible String Band

Every time I listen to this album I have a flashback of me living in a co-operative commune in the early 1970s filled with long-limbed girls who smell of jasmine, as you can imagine I now listen to this album almost daily. I love this album but it really does reek of hippie excess, I would imagine John Lydon used copies of this album as frisbees on the Kings Road.
I played this album tonight really just to hear A Very Cellular Song, 13 minutes of avant-garde hippiness, full on. Those of a nervous, mainstream pop persuasion need to listen with extreme caution.
Hidden gem; The Minotaur’s Song, imagine writing a song from the perspective of a mythic beast, complete with animal noises, now that is what I call genius.

2 thoughts on “The Hangman’s Beautiful Daughter – The Incredible String Band

Leave a Reply

