Ummagumma – Pink Floyd

When I was a kid I would listen to this album and stare at the cover for ages, especially the back cover with all their equipment displayed (that is how we rolled pre You Tube). Which makes me wonder if One Direction ever did that would they just have a mic and an autotune box?
This was one of the first Floyd albums I owned and because of this the live versions of Astronomy Domine and Careful With That Axe Eugene (brilliant title, and whenever anyone is using an axe in my line of sight I still refer to them as Eugene, and ask them to be careful) are my definitive versions. My friend first heard the Sex Pistol’s Pretty Vacant on a Top of the Pops covers album, to this day it has lodged itself in his subconscious as his definitive version, he now earns his living playing in a covers band.
The second album is a bit more of a challenge, ranging from the sumptuous (Granchester Meadows) to Nick Mason tuning his drums for seven minutes.
Hidden gem; The stomach churning scream on Careful With that Axe Eugene, then the proceeding five minute space jam, fantastic stuff.

5 thoughts on “Ummagumma – Pink Floyd

  1. As a huge Floyd fan since getting “Animals” in 1977 shortly after my 11th birthday, I went back through their catalog within the next couple of years and, like you, I was mesmerized by the front & back covers of “Ummagumma.” As you said, some of the performances on the first album are definitive, and the rest of the solo spots are hit-and-miss. I don’t play it very often but it’s definitely an important part of their early discography (I listen to “Live At Pompeii” a lot more frequently). I was always proud of memorizing the title for Waters’ sound-effects piece, “Several Species of Small Furry Animals Gathered Together In A Cave And Grooving With A Pict.” I’m not going to do a Google search to make sure I still remember it correctly, so hopefully I wrote that correctly and haven’t embarrassed myself. Of course, the title is more enjoyable than the tune, but as a teenager knowing that kind of thing was (still is?) a badge of honor.

Leave a Reply

