I’m Your Man – Leonard Cohen

I spent a couple of hours today trying to figure out how to dance to Leonard Cohen. Maybe Maroon 5 should have sung the song Moves like Cohen. This is Leonard’s disco album, can you feel the funk?
When you get beyond the bizarre instrumentation on some of this album it is a great album. I don’t think I have listened to this for 5 years or so, but it is sounding quite good tonight (Hi-def audio baby!). Twenty years later I still think the album begins and ends with First We Take Manhattan, lyrically anyway, it is immense.
Standout track; First We Take Manhattan
Hidden gem; Everybody Knows
An aside; After listening I stagger under the weight of depression to the hi-fi to provide myself with an anecdote to the dark veil that has descended over me, I select the only antidote possible for Cohen, and his antithesis, Wham’s Wake Me Up Before You Go Go. I never did like Wham’s cover version of I’m Your Man, they ruined it.

One thought on “I’m Your Man – Leonard Cohen

Leave a Reply

